Soli Deo Gloria

Craig Burrows’ blog

Apple Scholars

Posted by QuietoftheLand on September 16, 2007

As written by our Apple Scholars:

“A friend is someone we turn to when our spirits need a lift,
A friend is someone we treasure,
For true friendship is a gift.
This is our treasure FRIENDSHIP.”

This is what we found at the end of our treasure hunting.
Last September 16, 2007 we have had our monthly activity in Papaya Academy. Our activity for the month was “treasure hunting”. The facilitators of the said activity were kuya Craig, kuya Raphael, kuya Nick, kuya Mark, ate Aafke and ate Josephine. First we were asked what our treasures in life by kuya Craig, the hunting starts after that. We were divided into team of threes. To get the treasure we have to undergo different activities to get our clues. These activities are: basketball (with no rules at all), find clues within the Papaya premises, buy something in the market, searching for something in the internet, sing, we even have to answer something from the facilitators. For the final task we have to dig the treasure located at the back to the Papaya building.

“I enjoyed this activity because we took a lot of tasks that really gives me sweat all over my body and we have to think very deeply and we have to understand the clues.” –Michael
“It was really exciting for me because it was my first time to do the treasure hunting. It really needs to have sharp mind to discover the next clue until we discovered the final treasure which is friendship.” –Shiela
“I enjoyed this very much and I found out that friendship is the real treasure. Friendship is happiness.” –Mona
“Treasure hunting is very interesting and very exciting. According to my experience the real treasure is the friendship.” –Nhel
“It is such a great experience for me and a great opportunity to have bonding with my co-scholars I really enjoy all the activities.” –Hazel
“I found it adventurous and exciting.” –Resty
“I enjoyed the activity very much because it is my first time to do the treasure hunting and in the final task I learned that the treasure hunting was interesting.” –Rosemarie
“The whole activity was fun. It is really great to be part of this activity. I’ve learned a lot of things like patience, perseverance, cooperation and just to have fun throughout the time. Having bonding with my co-scholars always made me happy because their like a sibling to me. This activity made me realize more that friendship is the only treasure that cannot be taken by anyone from someone. I’m looking forward to have another activity like this.” –Aubrey
“It was very fun, exciting and enjoyable activity. I will treasure this experience.” -Joanne

Leave a comment